Dance Central Full Track List Revealed

Yesterday, Harmonix announced the full track list for Dance Central. Despite my reluctance to buy a Kinect, this game is still very high on my most wanted list. Harmonix is one of my favourite developers and I’m really excited to try their take on the dancing game genre. If you’re wondering what tracks you’ll be shaking your booty to this holiday season, click through to the rest of this post.

  • Audio Push — “Teach Me How To Jerk”
  • Basement Jaxx — “Rendez-vu”
  • Beastie Boys — “Body Movin’ (Fatboy Slim Remix)”
  • Beenie Man — “King Of The Dancehall”
  • Bell Biv DeVoe — “Poison”
  • Benny Benassi — “Satisfaction”
  • Cascada — “Evacuate the Dancefloor”
  • Christina Milian — “Dip It Low”
  • The Commodores — “Brick House”
  • Craig Mack — “Flava In Ya Ear (Remix)”
  • Dirty Vegas — “Days Go By”
  • Eric B. & Rakim — “Don’t Sweat the Technique”
  • Fannypack — “Hey Mami”
  • Jay Sean ft. Lil Wayne — “Down”
  • Kool & The Gang — “Jungle Boogie”
  • Kylie Minogue — “Can’t Get You Out of My Head”
  • Lady Gaga — “Just Dance”
  • Lady Gaga — “Poker Face”
  • Lipps Inc — “Funky Town”
  • M.I.A. — “Galang ’05”
  • Nelly Furtado — “Maneater”
  • Nina Sky — “Move Ya Body”
  • No Doubt — “Hella Good”
  • Pitbull — “I Know You Want Me (Calle Ocho)”
  • Quad City DJ’s — “C’mon N’ Ride It (The Train)”
  • Rihanna — “Pon de Replay”
  • Salt-N-Pepa — “Push It”
  • Snoop Dogg/Pharrell — “Drop It Like It’s Hot”
  • Soulja Boy Tell ‘Em — “Crank That (Soulja Boy)”
  • Technotronic — “Pump Up the Jam”
  • Wreckx-n-Effect — “Rump Shaker”
  • Young MC — “Bust A Move”

Unlike the Just Dance series, the track list for this game is very focused and narrow. If you are a fan of urban dance (which I am), this is right up your alley. However, if you’re looking for something more broad in terms of dance styles and music, this initial offering won’t cut it. Though rock dance may not be my favourite type of dancing, I still like having that variety it in Just Dance. I’m sure that Harmonix will do a great job with downloadable songs, but you will not get to bust out your best disco moves when Dance Central launches.

My big red flag with the game is the size of the set list. For those of us spoiled by the Rock Band series, a thin set list of just over 30 songs is a bit alarming. I understand that its a lot harder to create dance sequences than note charts, but that number of songs is fairly low. I criticized the first Just Dance for only having around 30 songs and I think that complaint is valid here as well. Once again, downloadable songs should address this concern, but not without a few extra dollars from your wallet.

While the lack of songs does put a damper on my excitement towards the game, I approve of the urban emphasis on the music and dance style. Dance Central is out in less than a month, and I’m excited to play this game one way or another.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.